保障生殖健康

比林斯排卵期徵状法™不仅仅适用于希望怀孕或避孕的女性。它是每一位妇女都需要掌握的知识。为什么呢?因为它能帮你保障自己的生殖健康。

比林斯排卵期徵状法™图表具有诊断作用

宫颈粘液的变化可以准确地反映你的生殖激素正在发生什么变化。这张图表保存起来可以准确地记录这些激素情况。50多年的研究和激素分析证明了这一点。

你可能会想粘液形态和月经周期中哪些不规则情况算是异常。有些卵巢活动是对生活中不同时间和事件的正常反应。你的比林斯排卵期徵状法™图表将会帮助你联系粘液形态和月经周期的变化与你的生活和身体的变化。所以在我们分析什么是异常情况之前,看看哪些是正常的“不规则情况”。

月经

子宫衬里,称为子宫内膜,在每个月经周期会因雌激素而增厚。孕激素水平在排卵时开始上升,使子宫内膜发生变化,从而为受精卵的移植做好准备。如果没有怀孕,孕激素和雌激素水平会下降,导致子宫内膜脱落。

排卵功能障碍是指无排卵或排卵活动异常。此情况是不孕的主要原因。它通常与月经周期不规则有关,一般由激素紊乱导致。例如:

多囊性卵巢综合征

肾上腺激素和卵巢激素异常是卵巢功能障碍的最常见诱因,最常见的例子是多囊性卵巢综合征(PCOS)。据估计,约有5%-10%的澳大利亚妇女患有PCOS,但许多人对自己身患此病并不知情。

生殖系统发炎是不孕的第二个主要原因。而最主要的原因通常是生殖道感染(通常由性传染病导致)。如果你学会了绘图记录你的宫颈粘液形态,你就能很快地察觉异常,并立即寻求治疗,从而防止生殖紊乱。例如,你可能在你的宫颈粘液中看到少量血迹,或者在有排卵形态的粘液时持续有分泌物。

子宫粘液中若只有少量血液,可能对你的身体没有害处,它是由于激素水平波动,或者在你怀孕后胚胎移植造成的。但有时候它可能预兆子宫颈或子宫息肉,或者子宫肌瘤,此外还有一些生殖系统的癌症,可能影响你宫颈粘液形态和月经周期。如果在你正常的形态或者正常的月经发生变化,在粘液中出现任何血斑或血迹,请务必告诉你的医生。

一个28岁女性的比林斯排卵期徵状法™图表显示几个月的周期异常,并有过浓的粘液,且无明显的昭示排卵的形态变化。在一个周期中,她出现生殖症状,然后很快就出血,然后又是生殖症状。她的比林斯排卵期徵状法™老师让她到全科医生处检查。

Safeguarding Reproductive Health

The Billings Ovulation Method™ is not just for women who are trying to conceive or for those who are wanting to avoid pregnancy. It is knowledge that every woman ought to have. Why? Because it can help you to safeguard your reproductive health.

The Billings Ovulation Method™ Chart is Diagnostic

Changes in your cervical mucus are an accurate reflection of what is going on with your reproductive hormones. The chart you keep will be an accurate record of these hormonal events. Over 50 years of research and hormonal assays confirm this.

You may be wondering which irregularities in your mucus pattern and your menstrual cycles should be considered abnormal. There are different kinds of ovarian activity that are completely normal responses to different times and events in your life. Your Billings Ovulation Method™ chart will help you make the connection between what is going on with your mucus pattern and menstrual cycle and what is going on in your life and your body. So let's take a look at these normal "irregularities" before we look at what might be abnormal.

The lining of the uterus, called the endometrium, thickens during each menstrual cycle in response to the hormone oestrogen. Progesterone levels begin to rise around the time of ovulation, changing the endometrium to make it ready for the implantation of a fertilised egg. If conception doesn't take place, the levels of progesterone and oestrogen fall, causing the endometrial lining to be shed.

Ovulatory Dysfunction is the absence of ovulation or abnormal ovulation activity. This condition is a major cause of infertility. It is often associated with irregular menstrual cycles and is usually caused by hormonal disorders. Adrenal and ovarian hormone abnormalities are the most frequent cause of ovarian dysfunction, and the most common example of this is Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS). It is estimated that 5 to 10 per cent of Australian women have PCOS, but many don't know they have it.

Inflammatory processes of the reproductive system are the second most frequent cause of infertility. They are usually secondary to genital tract infections (often caused by STIs). If you have learned to chart your cervical mucus patterns you will quickly be able to recognise an abnormality and seek treatment promptly, which may prevent fertility disorders. For example, you may see a small amount of blood in your cervical mucus, or experience a continuous discharge alongside an ovulatory pattern of mucus.

A small amount of blood in your cervical mucus may be harmless, caused by hormone fluctuations, or even the implantation of an embryo if you have conceived. But sometimes it may indicate cervical or uterine polyps, or fibroids. There are also a number of cancers of the reproductive system that can affect your patterns of cervical mucus and menstrual cycle. It's important to discuss with your doctor any spotting or blood in the mucus that is a change from your usual pattern, or changes in your normal menstrual flow.

The Billings Ovulation Method™ chart of a 28-year-old woman showed several months of abnormal cycles, with excessive thick and sticky mucus and no obvious changing pattern suggestive of ovulation. In one cycle, she experienced fertile symptoms followed immediately by bleeding, then fertile symptoms again. Her Billings Ovulation Method™ tutor referred her to her GP for investigation.