比林斯LIFE - 生殖教育先驱

给本项目评分
(5 得票数)

关于我们

比林斯LIFE为使用比林斯排卵期徵状法™的妇女和夫妇提供有关自然生殖管理的临床指导。我们能为你提供基于实证的教育资源,帮你使用比林斯排卵期徵状法™自然地怀孕或避孕,并在生殖期限的所有阶段保障你的生殖健康。

我们可为健康从业人员提供持续专业发展(CPD),并为比林斯排卵期徵状法™老师提供培训。比林斯LIFE是澳大利亚皇家全科医师协会(RACGP)质量保证和持续专业发展项目(QA&CPD)的认证供应商,为医生和其他健康从业人员提供1类(妇女健康)专业发展和继续教育。比林斯LIFE是比林斯排卵期徵状法™老师认证的全国唯一提供商。

你的比林斯排卵期徵状法™老师是像你一样的女性,她学会了如何使用比林斯排卵期徵状法™管理自己的生殖,并希望与他人分享这方面的知识。她将接受综合培训和持续的专业支持以确保她具备必要的知识,帮你理解各种情况下的生殖状况。

比林斯LIFE开展并倡导研究比林斯排卵期徵状法™,以及生殖生物学领域疾病的原因、防治、诊断、治疗和药物并对其进行科学调查。研究结果通过医学杂志以及我们自己的健康论坛在全国和国际上分享。

此外,我们的一生地爱课程为中学学生提供基于价值观的人类性教育。

比林斯LIFE是比林斯全球分支组织网络的一部分。 WOOMB International (比林斯排卵期徵状法™世界组织)是将这些组织与权威比林斯排卵期徵状法™的教学联系起来的国际机构。澳大利亚的分支机构是Ovulation Method Research & Reference Centre of Australia Ltd(澳大利亚排卵方法研究和参考中心有限公司) (OMR&RCA),该机构以比林斯LIFE名义运营,受到维多利亚州健康与老龄化联邦部门与卫生部的财政支持。WOOMB International 和比林斯LIFE 的行政办公室均位于澳大利亚墨尔本East Burwood。


历史

Dr John & Evelyn Billings
Drs Evelyn and John Billings

 

1953年,墨尔本的John Billings(约翰•比林斯)医生首次发现比林斯排卵期徵状法™。他与妻子Evelyn Billings合作,周游世界教授他们的方法。目前此方法在全世界100多个国家教授,并为这些地方的夫妇成功使用。比林斯排卵期徵状法™适合处于各阶段生殖期限的妇女使用,使用此方法可怀孕、避孕、保障生殖健康。

在比林斯排卵期徵状法™问世前,自然的生育计划方法只有Rhythm Method(节奏法)。此法基于这样一种假设,即排卵大约发生于月经的14天以前。使用此方法的夫妇就在排卵期前后几天避免性交(因为精子可在女性的生殖系统中最多存活5天,卵子最多存活24小时)。但是这个方法失败率很高,因为它无法准确地确定排卵时间。每一位妇女都是与众不同的,排卵可能发生在月经前11-16天。更为复杂的是,排卵时间可能因月经周期而异。此外,妇女的月经周期长度可能存在很大差异,比如,在有压力、怀孕后或接近更年期时。

很明显,我们需要的是一种女性自己可识别的生殖标志。考虑到这一点,John Billings医生搜索了医学文献。他找到了一些这样的说法:大约在排卵的时候,子宫颈内侧细胞会产生润滑性纤维状粘液。

这种粘液是否可作为生殖力的标志呢?在询问几位女性后,比林斯医生发现很明显月经周期内会有不同类型的分泌物,这对女性来说很容易就能观察到。接下来的问题就是确定在周期中是否存在一种典型的模式,以及女性是否能判断出自己的生殖期。

通过与数百名妇女的合作,比林斯医生很快观察到一种标准的粘液模式。粘液产生的感觉,以及粘液的外观,可以让女性识别生殖期的开始,这一点已经很明显了。

在20世纪60年代,一项长期的女性图表临床研究结束,并为生殖控制制定了一套准则。在这个阶段,仅仅识别出了与排卵相关的粘液形态,以及紧随其后的不孕期。

到1966年,Evelyn Billings医生判断出了不孕形态,即排卵前要么干燥,要么有分泌物。夫妻们不用再忍受长期无性生活的痛苦,因为她的研究证明,只要女性正确判断为不孕形态的分泌物或干燥情况不变,性交就不会怀孕。

1971年,世界卫生组织开展了一项范围覆盖五个国家的试验,并建议将此方法命名为比林斯排卵期徵状法™,以将其与其他计划生育方法区别。温度测量和节奏计算显得不再有必要,并且不可靠。

50多年的科学研究和激素研究证明,宫颈粘液是最可靠的生殖信号。我们精简并更新了教学方法,以建立通用性生育控制准则,确保比林斯排卵期徵状法™在避孕方面的效果不亚于当今可用的任何生育控制方法。

比林斯排卵期徵状法™现在越来越受欢迎,因为它可被用来帮助怀孕困难的女性增大怀孕的几率。

每一种计划生育的方法,包括SymptoThermal,和Creighton模型生殖护理系统 Model Fertility Care system都依赖于比林斯排卵期徵状法™发明者的研究和发现。

最后修改于 星期四, 11 10月 2012 17:47

Billings LIFE - Leaders in Fertility Education

Rate this item
(5 votes)

About Us

Billings LIFE in Australia provides clinical instruction to women and couples in the Billings Ovulation Method™ of natural fertility management. We will provide you with evidence-based educational resources to help you use the Billings Ovulation Method™ to achieve or avoid pregnancy naturally, and to safeguard your reproductive health at all stages of your reproductive life.

We provide Continued Professional Development (CPD) for health professionals as well as training for Billings Ovulation Method™ teachers. Billings LIFE is an accredited provider with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) Quality Assurance and Continuing Professional Development Program (QA&CPD) and conducts Category 1 (Women's Health) professional development and continuing education for doctors and other health professionals. Billings LIFE is the only national provider of accreditation for Billings Ovulation Method™ teachers.

Your Billings Ovulation Method™ tutor will in all likelihood be a woman like you who has learned to use the Billings Ovulation Method™ to manage her fertility, and wants to share this knowledge with others. She will have undertaken comprehensive training and ongoing professional development to ensure that she has the knowledge to help you understand your fertility whatever your situation.

Billings LIFE conducts and promotes research as well as scientific investigations into the Billings Ovulation Method™ and the causes, prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of disease in the field of reproductive biology. Research findings are shared nationally and internationally through medical journals and our own health bulletin.

We also offer the Loving for Life program, which provides values-based education on human sexuality to secondary school students.

Billings LIFE is part of a global network of Billings affiliated organisations. WOOMB International (World Organisation Ovulation Method Billings) is the international body which links these organisations to the teaching of the authentic Billings Ovulation Method™. The Australian affiliate is the Ovulation Method Research & Reference Centre of Australia Ltd (OMR&RCA), trading as Billings LIFE, which receives funding support from the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing and the Department of Health, Victoria. The administrative office for both WOOMB International and Billings LIFE is located in East Burwood, Melbourne, Australia.

History

Dr John & Evelyn Billings
Drs Evelyn and John Billings

The Billings Ovulation Method™ was first discovered by Dr John Billings of Melbourne in 1953. He was joined in this work by his wife, Dr Evelyn Billings, and together they travelled the world teaching their method. It is now taught and successfully used by couples in over 100 countries around the world. The Billings Ovulation Method™ is used by women at all stages of their reproductive lives to achieve pregnancy, to prevent pregnancy and to safeguard their reproductive health.

Before the Billings Ovulation Method™ was developed the only natural family planning method available was the Rhythm Method. This method was based on the assumption that ovulation occurs around 14 days before menstruation. The couple then abstained from sex for several days before and after (as sperm can live for up to 5 days in a woman's reproductive system, and the egg lives for up to 24 hours). However, this method had a high rate of failure because it couldn't pinpoint ovulation with accuracy. Every woman is different, and ovulation can occur from 11 to 16 days before menstruation. To further complicate things, the time of ovulation can vary from cycle to cycle. Also, there can be significant variations in the length of a woman's cycle, for example, because of stress, after pregnancy, or approaching menopause.

Clearly what was needed was a marker of fertility that women themselves could recognise. With this in mind, Dr John Billings made a search of the medical literature. He found several accounts of stringy lubricative mucus produced around the time of ovulation by the cells lining the cervix.

Could the mucus be used as a signal of fertility? After questioning a number of women, it became clear that the occurrence of different types of discharge during the menstrual cycle was a familiar observation. It then became a matter of determining whether a typical pattern existed during the cycle, and whether women could identify their fertile phase.

With the cooperation of hundreds of women, a standard mucus pattern quickly emerged. It became evident that the sensation produced by the mucus, as well as its appearance, could enable all women to recognise the onset of fertility.

By the mid-1960s a prolonged clinical study of the women's charts had been completed, and a set of guidelines formulated for fertility control. At this stage, only the mucus pattern associated with ovulation, and the infertile phase following it, had been identified.

By 1966 Dr Evelyn Billings had recognised the infertile patterns of either dryness or discharge before ovulation. Couples no longer had to endure periods of prolonged abstinence because her research demonstrated that sex could not result in conception while the discharge or dryness that a woman correctly identified as her infertile pattern remained unchanged.

In 1971 the World Health Organisation undertook a 5-nation trial and recommended that this method be called the Billings Ovulation Method™ to distinguish it from other methods of natural family planning. Temperature measurements and Rhythm calculations were discontinued as unnecessary and unreliable.

Over 50 years of scientific research and hormonal studies have confirmed that cervical mucus is the most reliable signal of fertility. Our teaching methods have been refined and updated to establish universally applicable guidelines for fertility control that ensure the Billings Ovulation Method™ is as successful for preventing pregnancy as any method of family planning available today.

The Billings Ovulation Method™ is now finding increasing popularity because it can be adapted to help women having difficulty conceiving to optimise their chances of achieving pregnancy.

Every modern method of natural family planning, including SymptoThermal and the Creighton Model Fertility Care system, relies on the research and findings of those who developed the Billings Ovulation Method™.

 

Last modified on Thursday, 11 October 2012 17:47